Hockeyroos Squad for Darwin and Champions Trophy

Hockeyroos Squad for Darwin and Champions Trophy

 

Author: Holly MacNeil/Tuesday, 17 May 2016/Categories: Hockey Australia NewsHockeyroos

 
 
The Hockeyroos squads for the International Hockey Open in Darwin and for the Champions Trophy in London have been announced today. 

Head Coach Adam Commens has selected strong teams of 18 to compete in each event, with members of the core Hockeyroos squad being given the opportunity to cement their places in the team ahead of selection for the 2016 Rio Olympics. 

The International Hockey Open will see hometown favourite Brooke Peris return to Darwin to play in the last Hockeyroos games in Australia before the Rio Olympics. Kellie White is a noticeable return to the team, after a positive recovery from injury. 

Hockeyroos captain Madonna Blyth will be absent from the squad in Darwin, however will return to the Champions Trophy Squad to compete in London. 

Adam Commens said: “The International Hockey Open in Darwin is a fantastic opportunity for us to prepare against high quality Olympic opposition in the lead into the Champions Trophy. With Madonna and Mariah [Williams] unavailable due to injury for this tournament, we are hopeful that they will be available for the Champions Trophy. (Mariah Williams – knee; Madonna Blyth, Calf.)

“With these two series being so close to the Olympic Games is it is likely that our Olympic 16 will come from these 20 players, however if necessary we are confident that any player from our broader squad will be prepared to perform in Rio.”

Tickets for the International Hockey Open in Darwin are limited so head to www.ntix.com.au to secure your chance to see the Hockeyroos play for the last time in Australia prior to the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. 

HOCKEYROOS FIXTURES
International Hockey Open, Darwin (Featuring New Zealand, Japan and India)
Tuesday 31 May: AUS v JPN | 7.00pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST / 7.30pm AEST
Wednesday 1 June: AUS v NZL | 7.00pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST / 7.30pm AEST
Friday 3 June: AUS v IND | 7.00pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST / 7.30pm AEST
Saturday 4 June: Finals TBC
 
Champions Trophy, London (Featuring America, New Zealand, Argentina, Netherlands, Great Britain)
Saturday 18 June: AUS v USA | 12pm BST / 7pm AWST / 9pm AEST
Sunday 19 June: AUS v NZL | 4pm BST / 11pm AWST / 1am AEST (Monday 20)
Tuesday 21 June: AUS v ARG | 2.30pm BST / 9.30pm AWST / 11.30pm AEST 
Thursday 23 June: AUS v NED | 6pm BST / 1am AWST (Friday 24) / 3am AEST (Friday 24)
Saturday 25 June: GBR v AUS | 4pm BST / 11pm AWST / 1am AEST (Sunday 26)
Sunday 26 June: Finals TBC 


HOCKEYROOS SQUADS 
INTERNATIONAL HOCKEY OPEN (30 May – 4 June, Darwin)

Edwina Bone (Evatt, ACT)
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)
Kirsten Dwyer (Mackay, QLD) 
Anna Flanagan (Canberra, ACT)
Jodie Kenny (Wamuran, QLD)
Rachael Lynch (Warrandyte, VIC)
Karri McMahon (Berri, SA)
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW)
Gabrielle Nance (Kingscliff, SA)
Georgia Nanscawen (Melbourne, VIC)
Georgina Parker (Berri, SA)
Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT)
Casey Sablowski (Albion Park, NSW)
Kathryn Slattery (South Stirling, WA)
Emily Smith (Crookwell, NSW)
Grace Stewart (Gerringong, NSW)
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC)
Kellie White (Crookwell, NSW)


CHAMPIONS TROPHY (18 – 26 June, London)
Madonna Blyth (C) (Brisbane, QLD)
Edwina Bone (Evatt, ACT)
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)
Anna Flanagan (Canberra, ACT)
Jodie Kenny (Wamuran, QLD)
Rachael Lynch (Warrandyte, VIC)
Karri McMahon (Berri, SA)
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW)
Gabrielle Nance (Kingscliff, SA)
Georgia Nanscawen (Melbourne, VIC)
Georgina Parker (Berri, SA)
Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT)
Casey Sablowski (Albion Park, NSW)
Kathryn Slattery (South Stirling, WA)
Emily Smith (Crookwell, NSW)
Grace Stewart (Gerringong, NSW)
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC)
Mariah Williams (Parkes, NSW)