Australia Leaves Europe Celebrating New World Rankings & Individual Player Recognition

Author: Mitch Wynd

After 34 games in six months across ten countries in the inaugural FIH Pro League, our national men’s and women’s team return to Australia with new world rankings and individual awards.

The national men’s team (Kookaburras) were crowned FIH Pro League champions and regained the world number one ranking after defeating Belgium 3-2 in the grand final in Amstelveen, the Netherlands.

The team also finished the home and away season on top of the ladder, four points ahead of second-placed Belgium.

Several Kookaburra players won individual awards throughout the competition:

Best Player of Pro League: Aran Zalewski

Top Scorer of Pro League: Blake Govers (12 goals)

Best Player of Final: Jacob Whetton

Best Goalkeeper of Final: Tyler Lovell

Of the twenty-seven National Squad members, twenty-six played in the Pro League.

The Kookaburras match record and goal scorers are listed below:

Matches Played: 16

Won Outright: 12

Won Shootout: -

Loss Shootout: 2

Loss Outright: 2

12 goals – Blake Govers

6 goals – Jacob Anderson, Jeremy Hayward

4 goals – Tim Brand

3 goals – Daniel Beale, Tom Craig, Trent Mitton, Tom Wickham

2 goals – Flynn Ogilvie, Lachlan Sharp

1 goal – Jake Harvie, Eddie Ockenden, Jack Welch, Corey Weyer, Dylan Wotherspoon

The national women’s team (Hockeyroos) finished the tournament as runners-up to the Netherlands after a thrilling grand final that was decided in a shootout.

The Hockeyroos finished the home and away season in third place on the standings, and their performance moves them up one place in the world rankings to number two.

Best Goalkeeper of Final: Rachael Lynch.

Twenty-four of the twenty-seven National Squad members played in the Pro League along with three National Development Squad athletes for a total of twenty-seven players all up for the Hockeyroos.

The Hockeyroos match record and goal scorers are listed below:

Matches Played: 18

Won Outright: 9

Won Shootout: 2

Loss Shootout: 4

Loss Outright: 3

6 goals – Savannah Fitzpatrick

5 goals – Emily Chalker, Mariah Williams

4 goals – Grace Stewart, Jane Claxton

3 goals – Rosie Malone, Maddy Fitzpatrick

2 goals – Brooke Peris, Jodie Kenny, Kaitlin Nobbs

1 goal – Kalindi Commerford, Sophie Taylor