Australia win Trans-Tasman Trophy

Australia win Trans-Tasman Trophy

Despite double defeat on day 3

Author: Holly MacNeil/Sunday, 20 November 2016/Categories: Hockey Australia NewsHockeyroosKookaburras

Jeremy Hayward 49 (PC) 

Stephen Jenness 3 (FG)  
Sam Lane 48 (FG) 

Georgie Morgan 32 (PC) 
Brooke Peris 54 (FG) 

Kirsten Pearce 3 (FG)  
Sam Harrison 19 (FG) 
Olivia Merry 48 (FG) 

It was the decider of the Trans-Tasman Trophy at the Lloyd Elsmore Hockey Stadium in Auckland today with Australia taking out the inaugural Trans-Tasman Trophy, even although they suffered a double defeat by the Black Sticks on the final day of competition.

The Kookaburras were again up first against the Black Sticks men, and within minutes Stephen Jenness knocked one in past Australian goalkeeper Tristan Clemons giving the Black Sticks a much-needed boost and an early lead.

Right on the quarter time buzzer and the Kookaburras were up for a penalty corner opportunity, however the flick from Jeremy Hayward was deflected wide by goalkeeper Richard Joyce.

The Black Sticks were up for a penalty corner first in the second term, and after New Zealand managed a couple of cracks at goal, Kookaburras goalkeeper Tristan Clemons deflected the ball away from goal.

Australia came back towards the end of the quarter, but they couldn’t quite lift to convert any goals. Scott Boyde had a chance right on the half time buzzer but the New Zealand goalkeeper deflected the ball and Boyde suffered a knock to the head in the process.

Coming back from half time and the Kookaburras gave it their all taking more control of the game, but they still struggled to convert opportunity to goal. The Black Sticks didn’t have as many opportunities in the third quarter but they maintained their lead over the Australians.

Minutes into the final quarter and Sam Lane scored a cracker of a field goal, with a reverse shot sneaking in past Tristan Clemons. Australia were back on it straight away with a penalty corner from Jeremy Hayward flicking into goal.

With just over four minutes to go, the Kookaburras replaced goalkeeper Clemons with an extra field player in Jeremy Hayward to give themselves as much of a chance as possible. It wasn’t to be and New Zealand beat the Kookaburras on home soil for the first time in almost 50 years.

Kookaburras interim head coach Paul Gaudoin said: “Look we started slowly again when we really needed to put it to the New Zealanders. The Black Sticks started strongly again, but we managed to get back into the match and we did have had a lot of chances.

“We need to improve our penalty corner conversions for the Melbourne tournament, but this has been a great opportunity to expose some new players to the rigors of international competition.”

The Hockeyroos next took on the Black Sticks women in the deciding match of the series, with each team already having had a win in the competition.

Just three minutes in to the game, and Kirsten Pearce scored a cracker for the Black Sticks, giving them an early lead over the Hockeyroos and mirroring the Black Sticks v Kookaburras game from earlier in the day.

With 15 seconds to go in the first quarter, the Hockeyroos were up for a penalty corner. Gabi Nance injected, Georgia Nanscawen trapped and Anna Flanagan went for the drag flick, but it was knocked clear by Black Sticks goalkeeper Amelia Gibson.

Four minutes into the second quarter and a pass across the circle landed directly in front of the New Zealand net, with Sam Harrison taking a spectacular dive to knock the ball into goal and extend the Black Sticks lead.

Two minutes into the second half and Georgie Morgan got Australia onto the board with a slick drag flick on a penalty corner flying straight into the top of the net. The Black Sticks fought back and within a minute were up for a penalty corner themselves, however it was saved by Australian goalkeeper, Ashlee Wells.

New Zealand were awarded a penalty stroke chance at 48 minutes into the game, but Audrey Smith in goal easily saved the shot by Natasha Fitzsimons. The Black Sticks were not happy about it and came back to score immediately, with Sam Harrison passing the ball across the circle to Olivia Merry who tapped the ball in over Smith.

After a tussle in the circle with the ball going back and forth between the Australian attack and New Zealand defence, Brooke Peris scored a goal for Australia from a deflection to bring the Hockeyroos back into contention. With only six minutes to go in the game both teams rallied, but the game came to an end with New Zealand defeating Australia 3 -2.

Hockeyroos interim head coach Jason Duff said: “All round I’m not unhappy with the way the girls went in the competition today. The way we really need to move forward, is to look at how we go about scoring goals, we’ve been a bit cavalier about how we go scoring goals when we need to be pressing. We need to fight for our goals, and the second in the match was one of those that we fought for.

“We moved the ball around well from the start, we were pushing and we out pressure on the Black Sticks. We had momentum, and even at 2 - nil we were going OK, but you can’t let a team get that score and then try to chase them down. 

“We need to re-group from here, look at some footage, and go into the International Festival of Hockey in Melbourne next week looking to win”

The Hockeyroos and Kookaburras will now head to Melbourne to take part in the International Festival of Hockey beginning on Wednesday.

Kookaburras squad v Black Sticks
Chris Bausor (Perth, WA) 17/1
Robert Bell (Brisbane, QLD) 3/0
Scott Boyde (Brisbane, QLD) 3/0
Tristan Clemons (Ferndale, WA) 28/0
Ben Craig (Lane Cove, NSW) 3/0
Jeremy Hayward (Darwin, NT) 63/19
Trent Mitton (Perth, WA) 97/36
Flynn Ogilvie (Wollongong, NSW) 37/12
Josh Pollard (Melbourne, VIC) 3/0
Matthew Willis (Tamworth, NSW) 10/1
Aran Zalewski (Margaret River, WA) 100/14

Used Substitutes 
Daniel Beale (Brisbane, QLD) 90/16
Matthew Dawson (Killarney Valley, NSW) 56/8
Casey Hammond (Bundoora, VIC) 3/0
Aaron Kleinschmidt (Melbourne, VIC) 3/1
Dylan Wotherspoon (Murwillumbah, NSW) 26/6

Unused Substitutes 
Tyler Lovell (Perth, WA) 71/0

Hockeyroos’ squad v Black Sticks 
Murphy Allendorf (Mount Gravatt, QLD) 3/0
Edwina Bone (Orange, NSW) *plays for ACT  124/2
Kalindi Commerford (Canberra, ACT) 3/1
Jacqui Day (Mountain Creek, QLD) 4/0
Kirstin Dwyer (Mackay, QLD) 117/2
Ashlea Fey (Sunshine Coast, QLD) 3/1
Jordyn Holzberger (Yamanto, QLD) 36/3
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW) 55/12
Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT) 104/14
Kathryn Slattery (South Stirling, WA) 65/23
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC) 80/0

Used Subsitutes
Laura Barden (Kew, VIC) 18/4
Mathilda Carmichael (Willoughby, NSW) 28/1
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA) 111/10
Anna Flanagan (Canberra, ACT) 169/34
Gabrielle Nance (Kingscliff, NSW) *plays for SA 45/2
Georgia Nanscawen (Melbourne, VIC) 185/36
Audrey Smith (Brisbane, QLD) 9/1

International Festival of Hockey Fixtures
Wednesday 23 November

Malaysia v New Zealand Men: 1pm AWST / 4pm AEDT 
Hockeyroos v India: 3pm AWST / 6pm AEDT 
Kookaburras v India: 5pm AWST / 8pm AEDT

Thursday 24 November
India v Malaysia Men: 3pm AWST / 6pm AEDT
Kookaburras v New Zealand: 5pm AWST / 8pm AEDT

Friday 25 November

Hockeyroos v India: 4pm AWST / 7pm AEDT

Saturday 26 November
Kookaburras v Malaysia: 12pm AWST / 3pm AEDT
India v New Zealand Men: 2pm AWST / 5pm AEDT  

Sunday 27 November 

Hockeyroos v India: 11am AWST / 2pm AEDT 
Men's 3rd v Men's 4th: 1pm AWST / 4pm AEDT
Men's 1st v Men's 2nd: 3.30pm AWST / 6.30pm AEDT