Burras win 2016 Sultan of Johor Cup

Burras win 2016 Sultan of Johor Cup

Defeat Pakistan 3 - 1

Author: Holly MacNeil/Monday, 7 November 2016/Categories: Hockey Australia News

BURRAS 3 (1)
Frazer Gerrard 13 (PC) 
Blake Govers 47, 67 (PS, PC) 

Hassan Anwar 7 (PC) 

The Australian Burras have won the 2016 Sultan of Johor Cup for the first time after defeating Pakistan 3 -1 in the final of the tournament at the Taman Daya Stadium.

Pakistan scored the first goal of the match thanks to a penalty corner from Hassan Anwar seven minutes into the game, leaving the Burras to make a comeback. It was a short-lived lead, with Frazer Gerrard levelling the score at minute thirteen with his own penalty corner. 

Coming back from the half time break, and both teams needed to do something special to take control of the game. The Burras came through, with Blake Govers awarded a penalty stroke at minute 47, giving the Aussies a 2 – 1 advantage in the final half.

With only three minutes of the game remaining, Govers secured victory for the Burras, with a penalty corner goal extending the lead to 3 – 1.
The squad’s participation in the tournament, a key element of the preparation for the Junior World Cup, has been made possible thanks to the support of one of Hockey Australia’s key partners, the Australian Commonwealth Games Association, through its NextGEN AUSComGames program.

The Burras will now concentrate on the upcoming Junior World Cup which will be held in Lucknow, India from December 8 – 18, 2016.

Full results from Day 6:
AUS 3 – 1 PAK
ENG 2 – 2 JPN (1 – 4 SO)
MAS 4 – 1 NZL

Final Standings
1. Australia
2. Pakistan
3. Japan
4. England
5. Malaysia
6. New Zealand