Debutante Named Among Hockeyroos Changes

Debutante Named Among Hockeyroos Changes

Author: Ben Somerford

Hockey Australia today announces the 19-member Hockeyroos team to take on Argentina and New Zealand at the Sydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre in the FIH Pro League on Saturday and Sunday.

The world number three Hockeyroos will take on fourth-ranked Argentina from 5pm (AEDT) on Saturday live on and sixth-ranked New Zealand from 5pm (AEDT) on Sunday live on FOX SPORTS 507.

The Hockeyroos will celebrate stalwart Rachael Lynch’s 200th cap in Sydney while 21-year-old Adelaide forward Michaela Spano is named to make her international debut.

They will take an extended team of 19 players to Sydney as insurance for the double-header, with Madison Fitzpatrick (ankle) and Rosie Malone (shoulder) returning from injury, with Jane Claxton, Lynch and Spano also added.

Kristina Bates, Penny Squibb, Grace Stewart and Ash Wells all make way.

Hockeyroos coach Paul Gaudoin said: “Michaela is a striker who came across for a Visiting Athlete Agreement for a week in mid-February and impressed.

“She’s been in our Development Squad ticking away and has come from the junior ranks in the Junior National Squad. We’re hoping for big things from her.”

Gaudoin was full of praise for 32-year-old goalkeeper Lynch ahead of her milestone match, having debuted for the Hockeyroos in 2006.

“It’s a wonderful achievement,” Gaudoin said. “Lynchy is one of the most respected athletes, let alone goalkeepers, in world Hockey.

“Her performances over the past 12-18 months have been exceptional. We’re hoping she has another two good games this weekend but we congratulate her on a wonderful achievement thus far and we’re still hoping for big things from her in the near future as well.”

Tickets are still available for the Sydney matches by Gates open at 2pm AWST.

The Sydney matches are made possible thanks to the support of Destination NSW.

Saturday 16 March 2019 – Sydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre
Kookaburras v Argentina – 3pm, Hockeyroos v Argentina – 5pm
Sunday 17 March 2019 – Sydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre
Kookaburras v New Zealand – 3pm, Hockeyroos v New Zealand – 5pm
Tickets by
*All times AEDT

Hockeyroos 19-member team:
Athlete (Hometown, State)

Jocelyn Bartram (Albury, NSW)
Edwina Bone (Orange, NSW) *Plays for ACT
Lily Brazel (Sydney, NSW) *Plays for VIC
Emily Chalker (Crookwell, NSW)
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)
Kalindi Commerford (Ulladulla, NSW) *Plays for ACT
Madison Fitzpatrick (Cabarita Beach, NSW) *Plays for QLD
Savannah Fitzpatrick (Cabarita Beach, NSW) *Plays for QLD
Rebecca Greiner (Bundaberg, QLD)
Jodie Kenny (Wamuran, QLD)
Rachael Lynch (Warrandyte, VIC)
Ambrosia Malone (Burleigh, QLD)
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW)
Kaitlin Nobbs (Newington, NSW)
Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT)
Michaela Spano (Adelaide, SA)
Sophie Taylor (Melbourne, VIC)
Mariah Williams (Parkes, NSW)
Georgia Wilson (Mahogany Creek, WA)