Hockeyroos defeat New Zealand 3 -1 at Champions Trophy

Hockeyroos defeat New Zealand 3 -1 at Champions Trophy

Goals from Smith, Kenny & Stewart

Author: Holly MacNeil/Monday, 20 June 2016/Categories: Hockey Australia NewsHockeyroos

 
 
Sunday, 19 June 2016 (London, UK) - Official Hockey Australia match report from the Champions Trophy 2016

                                                                                              
HOCKEYROOS 3 (2)
Emily Smith 3 (FG) 
Jodie Kenny 18 (PC) 
Grace Stewart (FG) 

NEW ZEALAND 1 (1)

Anita McLaren 3 (PC)  


The Hockeyroos have won convincingly over New Zealand with a 3 – 1 victory at the Champions Trophy in London with goals from Emily Smith, Jodie Kenny and Grace Stewart.

The first quarter began with a superb field goal from Emily Smith three minutes into the game, with the ball flying high over goalkeeper Sally Rutherford’s head and bouncing into the net.

New Zealand were quick to fight back scoring the chance for the first penalty corner of the game, followed in quick succession by the second. Captain Anita McLaren flicked the ball straight past Goalkeeper Rachael Lynch’s outstretched arm to score for the Black Sticks.

Australia were up for the first penalty corner opportunity going into the second quarter, giving them the chance to take the lead back from New Zealand. Jodie Kenny took the opportunity and smacked the ball into goal following the injection from Casey Sablowski and trap from Emily Smith. Australia were up by a goal going into the half time break.

With the first penalty corner of the third quarter going Australia’s way, the Hockeyroos were on track to extend their lead further. After an injection from Dwyer, and flick from Kenny it wasn’t to be and the ball ended up back in the NZ circle giving them the option to equalise the score. The flick went high and over the net maintaining the Hockeyroos 2 – 1 lead.

Forty minutes into the game and Grace Stewart broke free from the pack and raced down to the Hockeyroos circle. After the initial shot was deflected by the New Zealand goalkeeper, Stewart’s second shot went sailing over the keeper’s head and into the net giving Australia a 3 – 1 lead. 

With a minute to go in the final quarter, and after some great attacking work by Karri McMahon celebrating her 100th game, Australia were up for one last chance at a penalty corner. The flick from Jodie Kenny just missed the net, however the Hockeyroos still took away the game in a convincing 3 – 1 win over New Zealand.

Hockeyroos Head Coach Adam Commens said: “It was a fantastic performance, I was very pleased with how the girls went about their business and how they improved from game one to game two. I thought our defence was far more consistent today. We were just a little bit loose against the USA, it’s something we addressed and I thought we were much better today. 

“New Zealand are a high class team and they still got a number of opportunities, we’ll have a look at those and see if we can tighten up for our upcoming match.”

Celebrating her 100th game Karri McMahon said: “It feels very, very special to celebrate 100 games for the Hockeyroos. It was an amazing atmosphere against New Zealand and what a wonderful way to top it off with a win today.”

The Hockeyroos next play Argentina on Tuesday at 2.30pm BST / 9.30pm AWST / 11.30pm AEST. 



Results today
USA 1 – 4 ARG
NED 2 – 0 GBR
AUS 3 – 1 NZL
                                                                                            
                                                                                            
Hockeyroos’ squad v New Zealand
Madonna Blyth (Brisbane, QLD) 332/70
Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA) 98/9 
Jodie Kenny (Wamuran, QLD) 176/97
Rachael Lynch (Warrandyte, VIC) 148/0
Karri McMahon (Berri, SA) 100/9 
Georgina Morgan (Armidale, NSW) 42/8 
Georgie Parker (Berri, SA), 98/31
Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT) 91/13
Casey Sablowski (Albion Park, NSW) 248/44
Emily Smith (Crookwell, NSW) 153/62
Mariah Williams (Parkes, NSW) 46/5

    
Used Substitute
Edwina Bone (Evatt, ACT) 111/2 
Kirsten Dwyer (Mackay, QLD) 104/2
Gabrielle Nance (Kingscliff, SA) 36/2
Georgia Nanscawen (Melbourne, VIC) 179/35
Kathryn Slattery (South Stirling, WA) 52/14
Grace Stewart (Gerringong, NSW) 18/9


Unused Substitute 
Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC) 75/0


Hockeyroos’ Fixtures 

Tuesday 21 June: AUS v ARG | 2.30pm BST / 9.30pm AWST / 11.30pm AEST 
Thursday 23 June: AUS v NED | 6pm BST / 1am AWST (Friday 24) / 3am AEST (Friday 24)
Saturday 25 June: GBR v AUS | 4pm BST / 11pm AWST / 1am AEST (Sunday 26)
Sunday 26 June: Finals TBC