Three Changes To Hockeyroos’ Oceania Cup Team

Three Changes To Hockeyroos’ Oceania Cup Team


Author: Ben Somerford/Thursday, 5 October 2017/Categories: Hockey Australia NewsHockeyroos


The Hockeyroos have been forced to make three changes to the team to play at the Oceania Cup due to injuries.

Laura Barden (quad), Edwina Bone (knee) and Jordyn Holzberger (hamstring) have been ruled out, replaced in the 18-member team by Kristina Bates, Gabrielle Nance and Brooke Peris.

Hockeyroos head coach Paul Gaudoin said: “It’s disappointing to lose three players however we’re confident the depth in the squad will allow us to achieve our goals at the Oceania Cup.

“It’s a great opportunity for Brooke to play her first game for the Hockeyroos this year, while it’s further opportunity for Kristina and Gabrielle to push their claims.”

The Hockeyroos will depart for the Oceania Cup in Sydney on Monday, with the first game on Thursday 12 October.

Australia will play New Zealand and Papua New Guinea in the biennial tournament, with the final to be played on Sunday 15 October. 

Hockeyroos Oceania Cup team:

Athlete (Hometown, State)

Jocelyn Bartram (NSW)

Kristina Bates (Victoria)

Jane Claxton (SA)

Kirstin Dwyer (Queensland)

Ashlea Fey (Queensland)

Madison Fitzpatrick (Queensland)

Stephanie Kershaw (Queensland)

Rachael Lynch (Victoria)

Karri McMahon (SA)

Gabrielle Nance (SA)

Kaitlin Nobbs (NSW)

Brooke Peris (NT)

Madeleine Ratcliffe (Victoria)

Kathryn Slattery (WA)

Emily Smith (c) (NSW)

Grace Stewart (NSW)

Renee Taylor (Queensland)

Georgia Wilson (WA)